January Storm in the Columbia River Gorge

January 18, 2012


Icicles formed the first day of this January storm in the Columbia River Gorge and I realized I’d never tried to photograph one up close.

Looking through icicles hanging off our roof into the forest, I put on some rose colored glasses for my own amusement.

Then I got back to work, shoveling decks.  This side takes all my energy because snow falls here from the roof.

One side of our front deck before shoveling.  This is usually the last to get done because it’s a step down & if it doesn’t get shoveled, nothing is at risk.  My kilns are below the back deck, so I do that one first.

Heavy snowfall the first day, it was gray and dreary, but makes a pretty picture.

I needed a little color, so found my yellow glass garden fairy to photograph.  It was snowing hard, but you can still see her.

Day two of our January storm gave us 24″ of snow, overnight!  Treasure loved it!

Looking at the same half of my deck on day two, even my red glass ladybug is covered with snow.

My glass garden fairy is getting worried about the snow level rising!

Forging a path to the road where our cars are parked.  I throw snowballs, Treasure chases them.  All the way to the road.

From the front, my blue chairs are buried, but I can still see blue behind them.

Treasure chasing snowballs in the back yard.

Day two of the storm and I’m running out of shoveling steam.  Back to the rose colored glasses!

Everyone has a job to do during a snowstorm….well, except Critter.  “You can’t make me” is her mantra.

Thanks for stopping by.  Hope your winter is warm and toasty!!

 

8 Responses to “January Storm in the Columbia River Gorge”


  1. This just leaves me warm and fuzzy! That was a lot of snow wasn’t it! xoxo c


  2. Yes, a lot of snow, thanks for the comment Charlene!


  3. Drooling at all of your snow. So lucky! It’s been nothing but rain here in the interior West. I think we’ve swapped climates.


  4. Happy to swap back, Susan!

  5. Lynn Says:

    This is just beautiful!! The icicles are wicked gorgeous, too!

    And doncha just love a big dog in big snow?? :-)


  6. Thanks Lynn! That big dog loves big snow too!

  7. Holly Says:

    Hey, if you don’t know how to take care of those brilliant blue chairs, imagine leaving them out in that sort of on-slaught, pack them up and send them immediately to me. I’m not giving up! (Either that or tell me the color of the paint you used on yours!)


  8. Lol, Holly my hubby painted them, so I don’t know which turquoise it was.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,208 other followers

