Be Still My Heart…..

July 28, 2009

Orienpet Lily

Orienpet Lily

……the Orienpets are beginning to bloom!  One of my favorite flowers, they’re a cross between Trumpet & Oriental lilies combining the best of both.  If you’re unfamiliar with these, visualize a cross between Easter Lilies & Stargazers.

First day of bloom!

First day of bloom!

Alluring fragrance and large blooms on very tall sturdy stems, Orienpets are a bit more expensive than other lilies, but well worth the money.  I’ve purchased most of my recent lily additons from The Lily Garden and have been very happy with the bulbs and service.  Their catalog this year is, as usual breathtaking.

Greet the Morning Sun

Greet the Morning Sun

Hummingbirds love lilies and should you choose to plant them, prepare to forge your way through the swarm of hummers to get close.  The hummers in my neighborhood seem to swarm the most around my red lilies.  The Asians in particular, but we’re talking about Orienpets today…


Good-Morning-Trumpets

Aroma of Orienpet permeates the garden & wafts into my house.  I judiciously cut a few bouquets to bring in, as they last longer when left on the plant.  My bouquets over the years have grown smaller for this reason.

Morning Glow

Morning Glow

My favorite Orienpets are ‘Starburst Sensation’, ‘Anastasia’, ‘Arabesque’, Silk Road & Caravan, not necessarily in that order.  I also have & love ‘Black Beauty’, ‘Scheherazade’, ‘Georgette’, ‘Leslie Woodriff’, and a few others whose names I’ve lost.

Yellow!

Yellow!

My lily beds have changed from those first put in as I learned more and more about planting & caring for lilies.  My first plantings went straight into the ground without properly amending the soil or protecting the bulbs.  I did mine the rocks out.  I didn’t mark where I had planted them, so never knew how many I lost due to lack of water, rodents, deer, or other maladies that can plague a novice gardener.

Come Closer

Come Closer

My family & I enjoyed those that grew and bloomed until one year none of my lilies came up.  Where WERE they?  My tulips had also not come up that spring.  After investigating amidst much despair and angst at having lost all my lilies and tulips I learned moles and voles were abundant that year & had probably eaten every bulb within a 20 mile radius.

Look Away

Look Away

As a birthday gift, my wonderful husband replaced ALL my bulbs!  I was ready to do battle and protect my new bulbs from harms way, including any future mole and vole invasions.  At the hardware store I purchased 20 yards of hardware cloth.  I cut it, bent it, and sewed sides onto it using wire, turning it into several giant wire baskets that were lowered into the ground I’d hollowed out.  The baskets were filled with amended soil from all the best spots in my garden at the time.  Finally, some of those unearthed rocks were placed around the perimeters keeping the newly raised beds intact.

Big Fat Buds

Big Fat Buds

When fall arrived and my 300 new bulbs along with it, I was ready to plant.  Yes, I said 300 bulbs.  Lilies and tulips.  By now you must know I’m a collector & cannot buy just a dozen of anything!  And I was replacing what had taken a few years to collect.  And it was a gift!!

Cavernous

Cavernous

I love all the seasons of my garden, but when the lilies begin to bloom I’m in heaven.  From the Asians to the Orienpets & Orientals.  In fact, anything calling itself lily soon becomes a favored flower in my garden.  Daylilies, Foxtail lilies, Toad lilies, Candy lilies, Lily of the Valley, Pineapple lilies, Magic lilies, Calla lilies,  …. Which ones have I forgotten???

Thanks for stopping by!  Until next time…….

…………………

14 Responses to “Be Still My Heart…..”


  1. Beautiful, beautiful pictures. I always think these flowers make great subject for stained glass window designs…yet I haven’t made one…on my many TODO lists!

    Yikes, 300 bulbs Linda? Hope you have one of those handy augers that attach to an electric drill. That’s been a lifesaver and back saver for me when I plant bulbs.

    You have such a lovely garden. Thanks so much for sharing this with us. The reward of lots of hard work on your part!


  2. Thank you Kathleen, I always appreciate your positive comments! I planted them all one at a time without an auger, but the soil was very loose, so it wasn’t as difficult as it might have been! I keep meaning to buy one of those handy tools, though!

  3. Candace Says:

    Do all lilies smell as wonderful as stargazers? I absolutely love the scent although I guess some people find it too overpowering. Not me. It must be heaven up there to have all those around…an assault on the senses, so to speak.

    These photos are spectacular, your garden is unbelievable! I’m hopping in my car and driving up there now!!!!!!!!


  4. Candace, we think alike, the fragrance is not overpowering for me, although I might swoon! Most Oriental lilies (Stargazer is only one of hundreds of Orientals) have a wonderful fragrance that can permeate a room. I’ll turn the light on for you, lol!

  5. wiseacre Says:

    300 bulbs. Now you’re talking, that’s a good start when it comes to these beauties 🙂

    and thanks for the reminder – it’s time to go hunting the wild Canada Lily.

  6. Rosey Pollen Says:

    They are LOVELY to behold, these lilies of yours.
    Thanks for sharing!
    I bet they smell wonderful!
    Rosey


  7. And thank YOU for your comments Rosey!


  8. I’m looking forward to seeing photos of the Canada Lily on your blog, Wiseacre!

  9. Holly Says:

    My lilies are towering over my head this year…and I didn’t get pictures of them before the rains came. Now they’re all stained because of the stamins…but they’re still beautiful.

    Linda, I’m sorry I haven’t been here in a few days…since you moved the blog to W.P. and I’m so unsavvy with the computer, I don’t know how to follow you easily like I did when you were on Blogger…

    If you’d be kind enough to email me and tell me how, I’d love to click here and visit with you more often. We have the same passion and I love your artist’s eye in the garden.

    Have a great weekend!


  10. I have to laugh, Holly, if I were more computer literate, I’d make it easy for you. You can use Networked Blogs on Facebook, I think all you have to do is click on that in the sidebar of my blog. And you can always bookmark me!!


  11. Wow! that first picture is stunning – a really unusual flower photo, good photography.

    I’m going to check out that networked blogs thing too…

    all the best from sunny Barbados!


  12. Thank you so much! I love flowers & playing with my point & shoot camera!!

  13. MacGardens Says:

    Hey nice pictures. I especially like the backlit yellow lily labeled morning glow. Captures a sweet moment in the garden.


Leave a Reply

