Searching for Flower Fairies

August 7, 2009


A good hiding place?

A good hiding place?

During my granddaughters’ week-long visit we spent many hours in the garden.  We began each day with a stroll through, looking for flower fairies, and any signs that they might have been here.  Those fairies!  They left a surprise gift for the girls every morning so it became THE reason for leaping out of bed each day.  Pajama clad, sleepy-eyed but enthusiastic searches ensued.

Up one path....

Up one path....

The fairies left sparkly ankle bracelets, toys, games, …

...and down another path....

...and down another path....

We looked high and low for the fairies as they taunted & teased us with gifts.

Are we early enough?  Are they sleeping still?

Are we early enough? Are they sleeping still?

We think we may have caught a glimpse of one…..it surprised us with sudden movement…..No doubt to escape being discovered!

There!

There!

When it was time to leave, my girls had an armload of reminders for our mornings together in the garden.  And I have a wonderful memory of our adventures.

Empty paths

Empty paths

After a week of clamor, the paths seem so empty now and the fairies must be gone because I’ve found no trinkets since…..

Thanks for stopping by.  Until next time……..

13 Responses to “Searching for Flower Fairies”


  1. I just love this. So cute and fun for your granddaughters. I can just imagine the fun all of you had.

  2. jeroldssis Says:

    What a great idea and how fun! You know, when they’re my age they’ll remember those visits and tell THEIR kids about the flower fairies. I want to play, too!


  3. We did have a lot of fun!! You CAN play, J. ; ) Come on up!!

  4. Candace Says:

    That sounds so fun, what nice memories for all of you. I’m sure the fairies are still there, planning other treasures for the future. I have little fairies all over my yard, too, only they look a lot like cats.


  5. This is such a lovely post. You may well be planting the seeds for lifelong gardeners in your grandgirls. It was my grandmothers who first started me in gardening, a gazillion years ago…


  6. I’ve seen some of your fairies, Candace, I bet they leave ‘treasures’ for you too!

    Thanks for the comment Jodi, that’s exactly my intent. Their mother is also an avid gardener, & I’m hoping her grandchildren will follow us too!

  7. Teresa Says:

    What a nice way to create memories for your grandaughters. they will always carry that with them. Lucky you to have them both to spend time with.


  8. You’re right Teresa, we had so much fun together creating those memories for us both!


  9. What a delightful post – those lucky girls to have to introduce them to the “flower fairies”


  10. Thank you Karen! It’s delightful to have you reading my post!!

  11. Meredith Says:

    How sweet! Somehow I don’t think I’ll be able to convince my boys to go look for fairies in the garden. Maybe garden gnomes…


  12. Or how about ‘Worm Hunting’ with boys?!!


  13. My boys love looking for flower fairies and protecting them from the squirrels and mice. We are building them a little house right now. I blogged about it (a few times) and WordPress told me of other wonderful blogs about Flower Fairies. Cheers! ~Cori


Leave a Reply

