I See Red…

October 15, 2009

Blueberry leaves

Blueberry leaves

…Red and pink, yellow, green and lavender that is.

Mountain Ash

Mountain Ash berries

I’ve fallen behind in my studio and garden.  While catching up in the studio, I looked up on Tuesday to see snow falling and realized Autumn had descended  …  without me!

Sedum

Sedum

After the rain melted the snow I went out searching for damage only to discover I almost missed the glorious fall color!  Oh I’ve enjoyed seeing the color changes along the roadsides as I travel here and there, but hadn’t been paying attention to my own garden.

Euonymous

Euonymus

I’d better hustle!!

Green Goddess?  Another Garden Fairy hanging about!

Green Goddess? Another Garden Fairy hanging about!

I have tools to put away, and need to clear out the water lines.

Barberry

Barberry berries

Certain tender plants must be covered with straw if I want to see them next spring.

The pinks & purples of Poke

The pinks & purples of Poke

My glass and ceramic garden art should be packed up and stored.

Black Eyed Susans

Black-Eyed Susans prevail

I have a few homeless plants from my last plant shopping expedition that need to find a hole for the winter if I can’t place them now!

Single rose bud left after deer munched off all the leaves.

Single rose bud left after deer munched off all the leaves.

There are still a few daffodil bulbs that haven’t been put back in the ground yet.

Frozen Empress Tree

Frozen Empress Tree

And there are rock piles that need to be cleared out of the way, left from the last beds I dug.  (You remember, I have to dig rocks out of the soil before I can create new beds to house new plants!)

Lovely lavender beauty berries

Lovely lavender Beautyberries

And so I begin my panic that fall is once again here before I am ready for it.

Fall begins her descent...

Fall begins her descent...

Thanks for stopping by.  Until next time……

16 Responses to “I See Red…”

  1. nancybond Says:

    Love the last photo of those gorgeous blue chairs! There’s lots of red in your garden…it’s that time of year. 🙂

  2. rosey pollen Says:

    A fantastic collection of red!!! And I like the chairs too. You still have so much blooming in your garden.
    Rosey

  3. Mary Delle Says:

    Such gorgeous colors. I love the palette of red and then the turquoise chairs.


  4. Thanks Nancy, Rosey & Mary Delle! My husband will be happy you like his chairs. I’m always happy for your comments!!

  5. Tatyana Says:

    Oh, those berries! They are like flower blooms, only yummier!


  6. I agree Tatyana, YUMMY!

  7. Amy Emerick Says:

    Very pretty, red post! I like the green goddess 🙂 Wow, your garden is very pretty with the blue chairs and all the colors go very well together!

  8. LeSan Says:

    Holy smokes you had snow? Wow.This year has been just a tad off in the weather department in my opinion. I love your reds they are so rich and vibrant. The black eyed Susans are looking great and I’m still loving those chairs.:-)


  9. I’m so glad you stopped by Amy & LeSan! Compliments are always welcome. I think I should put more blue chairs out & about next season!!

  10. Candace Says:

    Wow, you’ve got a lot of work to do! I can’t believe you’ve had snow and we’re hitting 100 today! Your garden is always so gorgeous but I don’t know if I would be up for all that work 🙂

  11. Tatyana Says:

    Hi! It’s me again, answering your ? on my last post. No, we didn’t find any pictographs or petroglyphs. We need to go back! BTW, about ?? – do you ever return to the comments to see if your ? was answered? I tried to figure out the most effective way to handle comments (many bloggers tried to do it before me). Some people never come back, others do.


  12. You have so much vibrant colour in your fall garden. Are you getting many birds descending on your mountain ash berries?


  13. LOL, yes Candace I’ve created a LOT of work for myself. I find it enjoyable for the most part, but probably wouldn’t if I had to work in 100º heat!!

    Tatyana, I often forget to go back & check other blogs for the answers to the questions I’ve left. Appreciate your coming here to answer my ??!! Some blogs have a checkbox to check if we want to see follow up comments & if it’s there I’ll check it.

    I’ve been working more than watching the garden these days, Northern Shade, so haven’t noticed which birds are interested in the berries. Just those still at the feeders, chickadees, goldfinches, & juncos are regulars.


  14. love the last picture. Full of colors. Red rocks!!!!

  15. Gail Says:

    Your garden has dressed up for the season and she looks marvelous! I totally get having to dig up rocks before planting…It’s my most successful harvest~~tons of limestone! I do like your last photo~~the blue chairs are wonderful, but the conifers off to the left…stellar! gail


Leave a Reply

