Winter Wonderland?

January 11, 2010

Or skating rink?!

I went out this morning to see if the ice has melted yet with my camera in hand.

I managed to stay upright and caught a couple magical moments in my garden!

The ice encapsulated foliage and berries were beautiful.

My smaller conifers were overladen with ice and I worry about their survival.

Ice laden grass …

…and shrubs…

Always looking for color, I found some in the branches of this conifer!

And in my Yucca.

Not to mention my Salix integra ‘Hakura Nishiki’.

And a frozen lavender glass star.

I loved how the pine needles frozen in place looked so windswept.

And how the tamarix branches looked like frozen fingers reaching out.

For some reason this clump of grass drew me in.

The frozen Joe Pye weed seems an apt place to say thanks for stopping by.  Until next time……..

9 Responses to “Winter Wonderland?”

  1. ellen abbott Says:

    Wow! All very nice.

  2. LD Says:

    You outdid yourself! Great shots!


  3. Very nice and ICY, hahahahahhahahah! Thanks for stopping by!!


  4. Gives me the shivers! Very beautiful photos. We’ve had our snap of cold, and now I’m ready for spring!

  5. Diana Says:

    Beautiful capture of the ice!

  6. Candace Says:

    Brrr, but so beautiful and magical. Your garden seems lovely any time of the year. The glass star looked almost natural next to all the other ice-laden objects.


  7. Nothing like ice on a plant to make for a great photo! Keep up the great blog!


Leave a Reply

