The Lesser Traveled Path

January 18, 2010

I took my dog for a hike down the mountain this morning searching for a good photo of the clouds rolling through the Columbia Gorge.  I was pulled into the Shutter Sisters 365 Project by a friend so I’ve been taking and posting one photo per day and needed today’s shot.

As we progressed along the path I noticed the smaller things closer to earth.   I love the delicate detail of this lichen on the dark ground, enhanced by the sun.

The bright green moss called for it’s portrait to be taken as it bathed in the sun’s warmth.

When we arrived at the footbridge I gasped at the beauty of the sunlight sparkling on water.

What we came to see was this river of clouds moving through the Columbia River Gorge.  I love how the mist rolls in, enveloping the forest and I wanted to capture that.

From our vantage point we could also see Mt. Hood off in the distance.

Using the telephoto on my ‘point & shoot’ I could really see the clouds crashing on the mountain.

We stayed until the clouds began to lift, my dog pawing delicacies on the ground, and me just looking around in awe of the majesty surrounding us, not wanting to leave just yet.

One more shot of The Gorge and we were heading home so I could get some studio work done.  It’s due in two weeks, so I really must get to it.

By now the sun was fully awake and I spotted these twin trees with a heavy load of lichen.

I’ve always liked the name of this one, ‘Old Man’s Beard’.

And again, the dainty detail of this lichen whose name I don’t know.

When we came to this giant old rose bush loaded with hips I had to stop again….

…for a little more practice using the macro on the rose hips…..

…and the rose gall that had been frozen and thawed.  Alas I must get some work done today so we packed up and said goodbye to the open skies.

One last shot of the narrow path leading home, then I ducked in as the clouds descended again.

Thanks for stopping by.  Until next time…..

9 Responses to “The Lesser Traveled Path”

  1. Andrea Says:

    That was an awesome stop and a sojourn for me this morning. I was there as the photos and narration unfolded and i felt the smell of grass, of drying leaves, mosses and lichens and the rejuvenating taste of the newly manufactured oxygen. What a beautiful, enchanting morning. Those clouds in the gorge are marvelous. You are very gifted,,,thank you very much. You must come by to my share of the world and share with me the endless colors within my vicinity. That is an invitation. thanks again.

  2. FLORA Says:

    WOW…I would love a hike like that!! So beautiful…you are so lucky to live there!!


  3. What a beautiful walk you have outside your door. That is worth more that gold. Your photos are exquisite (love lichen!) and being above the clouds is simply amazing. Lovely, uplifting post!

  4. debsgarden Says:

    Well, this made me want to return to the Columbia River Gorge right away! I love the beautiful cloud photos and the shots of Mt. Hood. A wonderful post walk – thanks for sharing!


  5. Thanks friends, I’m so happy you stopped by with comments! I am lucky to live in such a beautiful, inspirational place.

  6. Holly Says:

    Thank you for taking me along on your road less traveled. I had a wonderful time!

  7. Candace Says:

    My goodness, how unbelievably beautiful. I can’t wait to zip over to your 365 now to see what you chose!

  8. ellen abbott Says:

    Thanks for the walk.


  9. Thank you Holly, Candace & Ellen! Always nice to see you here!!


Leave a comment