You Rock my World

February 4, 2010

Yes, YOU rock my world!  In return I give you Pink Quartz, the rock of love.  When I brought this 85 pound symbol of love home to my garden my husband couldn’t believe I’d actually PAID for a rock!  Yep, I did!!  It was in February, I needed a lift and thought it a perfect Valentine’s gift.

As winter settles in, a blanket of snow usually covers my garden for months.  Not so this year!  We’ve had waves of snowfall then warm snow-melting temperatures, which means my garden is mostly brown with brief bouts of white blanket.  Without the snow I can see all the rocks in my garden, those I’ve dug up and those I’ve collected.  Yes, I collect rocks right along with plants for my garden.

If you’ve read some of my beginning blog posts you know my garden was hard earned via digging a lot of rocks out of the ground before anything could be planted.  Those rocks came in handy for many landscaping projects.

One of my spring projects will be renovating this terraced bed.  Now that I have a little more experience I can rebuild it much better than my original effort.  All last season as plants emerged I scooped them out so I wouldn’t lose any when I begin renovations.

I’ve always loved and collected rocks.  As kids, my cousins and I would walk the back alleys of our little town, picking up ‘pretty rocks’ that were white and sparkly from the gravel that was used in alleys back then.  I still pick up white sparkly rocks wherever I find them.

A friend gave me obsidian…. a truckload of it.  His dad was a rock hound and he has tons.

I use it to line paths, but it doesn’t show up as vividly as beach rocks do.

Another friend gave me rocks he collected for a patio.  After I built my patio I had enough leftover to build a small bench.  There’s still more waiting on inspiration for another project.

Yet another friend gave me river rocks when the floods of ’96 ravaged his part of Mosier Creek.  Rocks flew out of the rampaging creek, completely covering his property.  A few of his friends hauled out truckloads for our gardens.

I’ve received gifts of rocks and I’ve given gifts of rocks.  I love rock stores where you can buy shiny, smooth, colorful rocks.  I’ve given my grandson and nephew rock tumblers!

I have buckets of rocks waiting for homes.  Do you collect rocks?  Have a favorite?  Do share!

Thanks for stopping by, I truly appreciate your visits to my garden.  Especially this time of year when there’s not so much to see.  Until next time……

14 Responses to “You Rock my World”

  1. Elephant's Eye Says:

    Come and visit. I have a map of Africa, that I use as a signature. Thereby hangs a tale … still have to write the story tho


  2. Diana, why I’ve not noticed your map is a rock is beyond me! It’s truly beautiful. Thanks for visiting my blog, I appreciate it!!

    No longer inept, I still bumble my way through the internet tools & usually we can click on someone’s comment to see their blog. For those of you who’d like to see one of my favorite Blotanists, Diana’s Porterville, South Africa blog it’s here:
    http://elephantseyegarden.blogspot.com/

    And in case you were speaking literally for me to visit you in Africa, Diana my bags are packed, lol!

  3. Andrea Says:

    Wow, those are real marvelous rocks! And by tons, super. The mother of the rose quartz being in your garden is amazing, i am really awed. I am fond of rocks too but in small quantities, just some collections because we dont have that much land as yours. In lieu of that i collect rock photos, from beaches mostly. We have a nearby beach where small different colored rocks abound. Sometimes i give them to friends as paper weights too. I am inspired by this post and may post rock photos also in my blog as i have a few of them too. Happy rocking!

  4. Melody Says:

    I have rocks that my grandsons find for me in the woods or along the roads. I have one bed bordered by rocks we picked up out of the river while it was dry years ago (not supposed to that anymore. Another bed is lined with lava rocks that I found on freecycle.It is my tropical garden and there were enough left over to build a “mountain” over the septic pipe. Lava rocks float – when the river flooded last year, the rocks started floating off. My grandsons, daughter and I moved them all to higher ground. Then I redid it all when the flood was over.


  5. The birdhouse looks perfectly situated on that rock. I love rocks and keep a pottery bowl full of them right here on my desk. In it there is a red rock with barnacles from the east coast of Canada and another one, grey with barnacles, from the west coast. There is also a rock somebody brough me back from the base of the “Blarney Stone”. Whenever I am on a shore somewhere my eyes are peeled for interesting rocks. Your collection, particularly the rose quartz, is stunning. Love them all! 🙂

  6. Sunny Says:

    Great post, love your love rock (might do that for my wife this year)hee hee hee. Its funny to think that 20 years ago you would have been laughed at (and maybe even stoned) if you said you were going to become rich selling stones.


  7. Andrea, Melody, Ms. S and Sunny, thank you so much for stopping by. I love hearing about your rocks!


  8. I think the pink quartz is fabulous! I love rocks. I have collected them since childhood. I’ve already used up all the rocks I can scrounge from my own property, so now I have to beg, borrow, or buy them. One of my big projects for this next year involves a rock retaining wall so I can expand my herb bed. I also need more rocks for the lady garden so I can make low rock walls around the planting beds. Right now I have a single row of rocks defining each area, but stacked rock would look much better!


  9. Oh Deb, you have but to ask! Come and get them, lol, looks like we have even more in common!

  10. Candace Says:

    I loove rose quartz. I don’t have a lot of rocks in my garden/yard but I do have a small collection of little rocks in the house. And I also like to wear gemstones, does that count? I have some rose quartz I wear.

    The more I see of your garden, the more I realize what a labor of love it is for you.


  11. Thanks Candace, gemstones definitely count, lol!

  12. Ilona Says:

    I love rocks, too. For my garden I have only collected Limestone, I’m afraid. Although I did place some purchased river rocks in a little fake “canal” made from an old portion of buried sidewalk. Was too lazy to lift it.

  13. Megan Says:

    I was searching for rock paths, as I am in the process of working on our garden and saw your site. When I read your entry, I had to post! My mom collects rocks. Well, it actually runs in the family. My grandfather (mom’s dad) was a SERIOUS rock collector. As in he donated some of his precious rocks to museums. It was his life! My mom hasn’t done that much, but has done a lot. We’ve brought back rocks from every family vacation, some even being swam back from the shore of a lake to our boat, on a floaty! It was one heavy rock! I, too, collect rocks but haven’t started my serious collection because of living arrangements while in college and random apartments. However, I have a house now and so my rocks all have homes. My mom collects heart shape rocks and has found them from 1″ in diameter to over 2 feet (the big one on the floaty). Love all your rocks – which I had them!!!


  14. Megan, thank you for stopping by! I only recently was introduced to heart-shaped rocks & only have one in my collection. Looking forward to seeing what you do with your path!


Leave a Reply

