Chasing Butterflies

August 11, 2012

One of the hottest days of the year and I’m out in the sun chasing butterflies.  Why? Because it’s too hot to work.   Help me identify them!  Taylor’s Checkerspot butterfly? on my pink butterfly bush.

There were at least two dozen butterflies in this section of my garden.  It was amazing and exciting and oh so much fun in spite of the heat.

Bumblebees rolling in pollen were irresistable while I waited for a butterfly to land!

I also saw but didn’t get good photos of (I think) Mormon Fritillary and maybe a Skipper.

Common Buckeye butterfly?  in my coreopsis.  I found a shadier spot for a minute…

…and on the Buddleia, back under the scorching sun.

Another bumblebee I couldn’t resist.

Hydaspe Fritillary butterfly?  on my pink butterfly magnet – I mean bush.

Hydaspe Fritillary butterfly?  Ruby Giant Echinacea.

My friend Laurie Miller made this sweet sign (along with a dozen others for me).  I love it.

Thanks for stopping by on this sizzling day!

Edit:  I forgot to include my Coolest Chasing Butterfly Lytro Photo.  When you see the photo, you can click on it to change the focus – go ahead, play with it!

6 Responses to “Chasing Butterflies”

  1. cfortglass Says:

    Linda, I love these photos. The butterflies are fantastic! Of course the pink magnet is also awesome. See you later this week. xoxoxo c


  2. Thanks so much Charlene! Looking forward to hearing about your reunion!

  3. debsgarden Says:

    I like your sign! You have a lot of patience and endurance to brave the hot sun to get good photos of butterflies! The temperature here has actually been a little cooler than usual. I know that won’t last!


  4. Thanks Deb, hope it doesn’t get too hot when your cool spell ends.

  5. Michelle Says:

    The photos in this post are Beautiful!!!


  6. Thanks you so much Michelle!


Leave a Reply

