Birds, Butterflies, September Flowers

September 17, 2012

Chickadee on my glass birdbath, looks like I’d better fill it.

Skipper Butterfly on Verbena bonariensis.  I love the detail my new camera captures.

Pink Gaura is a favorite in my garden.

Red Breasted Nuthatch in my weeping cherry tree.

Eastern Tailed Blue Butterfly drinking from an aster.  I’m learning about butterfly species!

Pink Hydrangea – it’s my only hydrangea blooming at the moment.

Rufous Sided Towhee perched on a sprinkler head as I stalked him.

Bumblebee imbibing in a sunflower.

I love this single rose – surprising since I usually go for the big fluffy varieties.

Looks like it’s time for a Liquid Fence application.  Before my pears are completely harvested by deer.

Checkerspot butterfly(?) drinking from a lavender aster.

My blue Veronica blooms earlier, then comes a paler pink and finally this beautiful ‘red’.

Steller’s Jay kicking fir cones.

Painted Lady Butterfly on Verbena bonariensis looks like a lollypop!

And a sunny Sunflower just makes me happy.

As always, thanks for stopping by!

16 Responses to “Birds, Butterflies, September Flowers”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I am so glad this is not a post where I would need to pick a favorite picture.. these are so amazing! That Sunflower does make me happy too 🙂

  2. Deb Kessell Says:

    You are getting nice photos with that new camera. I especially like the blurred background in the verbena butterfly shot. What is that camera again? I know it is a Nikon. I would like a camera that is easy to use. I have taken photography classes and just end up with anxiety because I can’t seem to remember all I need to know. Thanks, deb kessell Sent from my iPad


  3. Thank you Michelle! I’m having so much fun with this camera!!


  4. Thanks Deb! It’s a Nikon D5100 and for now I’m leaving it on auto as I learn how to use it. Taking it slowly, I think I will learn more about each aspect, just one topic at a time.

  5. Cynthia Says:

    Fabulous photos!!!
    Gonna check out your new camera!


  6. Thanks Cynthia, I really liked the new 3200 too; but of course since it’s new it was more $$$. I would’ve bought the RED one!

  7. Lori D Says:

    A great series of critters and fliers… and the stunning flowers. Beautiful!


  8. You are getting great bird and butterfly shots with your new camera. Up close and personal, hard to do with birds and butterflies. Good luck and show us more!
    Sue


  9. Thanks so much Lori! I appreciate your share on Facebook too!!


  10. Thanks Sue, I’m having fun practicing!

  11. cfortglass Says:

    These are AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!! xoxo c


  12. Thanks Charlene!! We need a photo play date soon!

  13. Candace Says:

    Those are wonderful, Linda! I love learning new butterflies, too, as I see them but it looks like you have more variety than I have in my yard. I’ve only seen about 5 different species. It’s fun how you can pretty much ID everything with the internet.


  14. Thanks Candace! I also love learning the beautiful butterfly names & plan to add more butterfly host plants!

  15. Charlie Says:

    I know it is a September post, but I needed a little color. The photos are absolutely stunning, thank you.


  16. Thank you for stopping by Charlie! Appreciate your compliment!!


Leave a Reply

