Unofficial Spring

March 12, 2014

Steider Studios.February Daphne

Officially we have about a week before Spring and my garden is budding with color.  Most of my garden is still underground but the sun has been out the last few days inviting my spring plants to wake up.  And inviting me outside to play.  I’m calling it unofficially spring!!

Steider Studios.Iris Reticulata

I’ve been buried in my studio in spite of the gorgeous weather lately because my annual studio sale is just around the corner and I still have much to prepare for it.  I’ve opened my studio for the last 15 years or so, and joined the Gorge Artists Open Studios 4 years ago.  Now I’m down to the wire with only a month left to finish all the work I’d planned and clean up my garden because people like to walk through it while they’re here.

Steider Studios.Crocus in Bulb Bed

After a long studio day I managed to get a couple hours of clean up done outside late this afternoon.   I could no longer walk by the debris of fallen limbs and branches from winter snow and ice.  I managed to get quite a bit raked up in a short amount of time.  Of course it’s not picked up, just raked into piles along my paths.

Steider Studios.Manzanita

I decided to trim and weed as I raked each section so that I could slowly acclimate to all those tasks that my back hasn’t done all winter.  It felt wonderful sitting in the warm sun, listening to the birds sing as I cleaned up each bed and pulled dead leaves away from tender shoots sprouting up.

Steider Studios.Viburnum.Pink Dawn

I’m grateful to have been outside.  In the sun.  I’m grateful to have only had a couple of hours because my back was not ready to work that hard.  My plan for tomorrow is to repeat today.  Maybe not as long.  Or maybe I’ll just sit and enjoy the sun and birds a little longer.

Steider Studios.White Primrose

If you’re in the Northwest, I’d love to have you stop by my studio sale to see what I do.  In my studio and in my garden.  April 11, 12 & 13.  You can send me a message here or via email if you’d like directions.

Steider Studios.Deer in Garden 3.11.14

Our resident deer are also happy to see the sun, and my plants popping out of the ground.  

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

