Back Yard Birds for Mother’s Day

May 11, 2014

Steider Studios:  Black-throated Gray Warbler

Happy Mother’s Day!  Happy me – I had a new bird show up at my feeders today!!  A Black-throated Gray Warbler!!  At least that’s what it seems to be from my Audubon Field Guide.

Steider Studios:  Black-throated Gray Warbler

Not the best photos but he was quick!

Steider Studios:  Black-headed Grosbeak

After tending my garden all morning I kicked back to photograph some of the birds at my feeders.  The Black-headed Grosbeaks politely wait in line for the Evening Grosbeaks to finish.

Steider Studios:  Pair of Red Crossbills at Feeder

I’ve had pair of Red Crossbills at my feeders all week.  Yesterday I saw a second male!

Steider Studios:  Female Crossbill

The female Crossbill landed on this birdbath as I was photographing flowers & stayed for a drink even though she knew I was so close.

Steider Studios:  Hummer Duo

Hummingbirds have been here awhile and I’m wondering if the one on the right is a baby.

Steider Studios:  Goldfinch

One of my favorites, the American Goldfinch numbers have steadily increased over the years.

I’ve had a couple of exciting birding adventures but haven’t edited all the photos yet.  Monday I went to Conboy Wildlife Refuge in Glenwood and was treated to a pair of Sandhill Cranes mating.  You can see a few photos on my Facebook page album.

Then on Thursday I went to the Ridgefield Wildlife Refuge north of Vancouver and saw many Cinnamon Teals and Canadian Geese with a multitude of goslings!  A few of those photos are also in a Facebook album on my page.

Steider Studios:  Osprey with Nest Material

 

Not to mention 4 nesting pair of Osprey along the Columbia River that I’ve been watching with a 5th nest being built!

Steider Studios:  Turkey Vulture

And a team of vultures that watched me photographing the Ospreys!  I managed to catch this one before he took off.

I have one more spring show coming up, the Hood River Rotary Wine and Pear Festival at the Western Antique Aeroplane and Automobile Museum (WAAAM) on May 17 and 18.

Then I hope to spend more time in my garden among the flowers and flying critters.  And catch up with all my blogging friends!!

 

2 Responses to “Back Yard Birds for Mother’s Day”

  1. Elsa Cajiao Cuéllar Says:

    Great pictures, The one I like best is the eagle.congratulations!

    Date: Mon, 12 May 2014 01:46:34 +0000 To: e_cajiao@hotmail.com


  2. Thank you, I was so lucky to catch the osprey!!


Leave a comment