Oh So Ornamental ~ It’s Grass in my Garden!

September 21, 2009

Ornamental grass

'Morning Light' Miscanthus

The subject for September’s ‘Picture This’ photo contest at Gardening Gone Wild is ornamental grasses.  I’m once again throwing my hat in the ring as I’m known for not being afraid to take a risk.  The other participating bloggers have turned in magical photos and I’ve waited until the last minute, but here it is shown at the top.  ‘Morning Light’ Miscanthus coincidently shot in the morning!

Room with a view

Room with a view

Judging this month is Nan Ondra who’s written several books, only one of which I have but it’s a favorite ~ “Foliage“.  Her book  Grasses: Versatile Partners for Uncommon Garden Design is now on my list to acquire since I’ve found some ornamental grasses that I adore so I’d better learn more about them.

The prize is being awarded once again by High Country Gardens, another favorite!

Miscanthus sinensis 'Variegatus'

Miscanthus sinensis 'Variegatus'

I’ve only recently begun adding grasses to my garden as it took me years to dig out the football field of grass that once covered it.  A couple well meaning friends gave me ornamental grasses in the beginning stages of my garden, but they were thugs that wanted to run rampant, so I dug those out too.

Japanese Blood Grass

Japanese Blood Grass

Until the last two years I’ve avoided anything grass like the plague.  Didn’t even want to look at it in a nursery!  Now I have several varieties that are lovely and well behaved so far like ‘Northern Lights’ Hair Grass, ‘Shenandoah’ Switch Grass, Variegated, ‘Morning Light’, and ‘Cabaret’ Miscanthus, Silver Feather Grass and Japanese Blood Grass to name a few.  I’m sure I’ll want more after reading Grasses: Versatile Partners for Uncommon Garden Design!  Do you have a favorite non-invasive grass I should put on my list to buy?

'Cabaret' Miscanthus

'Cabaret' Miscanthus

Thanks for stopping in.  There’s so much more to tell you next time!

22 Responses to “Oh So Ornamental ~ It’s Grass in my Garden!”


  1. Love those blue chairs. Very pretty garden. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Janet Says:

    I like your collection of ornamental grasses. Nice variety. Your submission for the contest has a nice glow to it, it is almost pink in the base. Good luck!


  3. Thanks for visiting! They’re very comfy too. BTW, anyone reading this should go see your incredible macro shots!!!


  4. Thans so much, I loved your entry! Good luck to you too!!

  5. Jean Says:

    I like all of your grasses. They’re hard not to like, right? I don’t have that book you mentioned but would love to have it. You should also check out her Fallscaping book for more drop-dead gorgeous grasses!


  6. Thanks Jean, after my post I realized she has so many books I need to read!

  7. Little Wing Says:

    Thanks for your kind comment on my entry. I see that you are growing Miscanthus ‘Cabaret’ also. Check out my latest blog post to see how big it will get- it crept up on me in size until suddenly it was huge!

    Your garden is beautiful!

  8. Barbara E Says:

    So glad to hear you are a new fan of grasses. I’ve loved them for some time, but when I want to give talks about them, or even write about them, I am sometimes greeted with less than major enthusiasm.

    Your pictures are lovely. Thanks for sharing.


  9. So noted Little Wing! It’s to be a wind screen, but I’ll keep my eye on it, thanks!
    Thanks for visiting my blog Barbara, I appreciate your comments!

  10. marmee Says:

    nice shots of the grasses in your garden.
    thank you for coming to “things i love.”
    i am going to go check out your artwork.
    happy september.

  11. teresa Says:

    Great grasses you have. I too have just begun to collect a couple of different kinds. They are a fun plant to have. I love your picture. good luck in the contest.

  12. Alice Joyce Says:

    Ahhhhh, love, love, love your photos!!!
    I have grasses on my mind these days!
    After talking with guru of grasses, John Greenlee, I was able to add plant names to my post on his new meadow garden in Sonoma.
    I review his new book, The American Meadow Garden, and think it will be ‘the’ resource for selecting which grasses to plant. Cheers! Alice
    aka Bay Area Tendrils Garden Travel


  13. Thanks Marmee, Teresa, & Alice for your comments! Alice, sounds like another must have book!!

  14. Susie Says:

    Hi Linda,
    Thanks for visiting my blog & the nice comments. Love the look of yours, my personal favorite grass is the one in my entry, Pennisetum setaceum ‘Rubrum’, here in S.CA we cut them down to about a foot high in winter, you’ll need to check in your area to see if it is too tender.


  15. Thanks for the compliment Susie, I love Pennisetum setaceum ‘Rubrum’ and would love to have it, but it’s an annual here.

  16. LeSan Says:

    I am just turning my thoughts toward grasses and this is certainly helping that process. Really beautiful elements and I love your garden. Ok, I really love the chairs. That color is killer!


  17. I have to laugh, I get so many compliments on those chairs!!

  18. Meems Says:

    Very pretty garden… I’m trying to figure out where you are? I love the grasses you’ve added to your garden and your photo picks up on the “morning light” nicely.
    Meems @ Hoe and Shovel


  19. Thank you Meems, I’m in the Pacific Northwest.

  20. Candace Says:

    Those are beautiful. I love that Japanese Blood Grass. Your garden is awesome and I like your entry.


  21. Candace, you’re back! I appreciate your compliments!!


  22. […] while the shots of ‘Morning Light’ miscanthus by Christoper of Outside Clyde, Linda of An Artist’s Garden, and Janet at Queen of Seaford (with bonus butterfly) emphasize just one popular […]


Leave a comment